CANTON — While refurbishing the former South Center District School may have started with members of the First Congregational Church, Canton Center, the idea has always been to involve the greater community.
On April 30, church members are planning a grand opening event to showcase the building and the town’s history.
The building, located at 185 Cherry Brook Road, across the street from the church, served as one of nine schoolhouses in town before Cherry Brook School was built in 1942.
The original building was built in 1848.
See more in this week’s Valley Press.